Click Here to Read About My Qualifications

 

 


Inessa S.

4star

The short of it is that Mr. Eckdish is very knowledgeable with over 30 years of experience, straightforward honest, compassionate and caring person who I believe God sent to me in my most worst nightmare times in my life.


Thank you! To Stephen Eckdish. And now let me say to whoever is reading my review: If you are looking for Immigration and criminal defense attorney please stop and do yourself a favor pick up your phone and call Stephen, I promise you will not be disappointed.

The short of it is that Mr. Eckdish is very knowledgeable with over 30 years of experience, straightforward honest, compassionate and caring person who I believe God sent to me in my most worst nightmare times in my life. My husbands case was very difficult...And after consulting with numerous immigration attorneys and getting burned by few of them who took or wanted to take thousands of dollars and done nothing, I was crying myself to sleep every night. None of these lawyers had knowledge of criminal and immigration defense at ones (it was one or the other but not both). After little to no hope, I decided to give another shot and consulted with Stephen Eckdish. Mr. Eckdish is amazing lawyer who worked really hard for my husbands case. He has many years of both criminal and immigration court experience. He personally handles all of his cases and knows them by memory without looking at the paper for his obvious tenacious approach.

Our case was not easy, it was very proactive one thing led to another...He stayed on top of his game he works really hard and hes always ready to pick up the phone when you call. He actually calls you too! He is also very respected with ICE. So through the sound guidance of Mr. Eckdish, we won the case and my husbands immigration court case was terminated with prejudice. Our family remains together in the United States and today I'm overjoyed with happiness and gratitude! My husband is driving to pick up his green card from his office as I'm writing this review. We, my husband and I, highly recommend him to anyone with immigration and criminal legal issues.

Mr. Stephen Eckdish deserves review of 100 stars because at the end of the day he was the only person that made the impossible, possible. STEPHEN is like family to us we can never thank him enough. Forever grateful! Jul 28, 2015

 

 


4star

Mr. Eckdish is very professional, courteous and compassionate

My U.S. Citizenship application was approved because of the hard work of Atty. Stephen Eckdish, a Criminal and Immigration attorney. First, he worked tirelessly vacating my 5 CIMT convictions through post-conviction relief that won my removal case against the Immigration Court. Then, when I became eligible, he filed for and obtained my U.S. Citizenship when he submitted a concise legal background memo of my cases that caused the USCIS to approve my N-400 application for Naturalization without opposition.

Mr. Eckdish is very professional, courteous and compassionate. I highly recommend him to anyone who needs help in Immigration issues. Kudos to you Mr. Eckdish and thank you for all your hard work! I rec’d the letter stating the date of my U.S. Citizenship Oath taking in Oakland and I am now a U.S. Citizen! Wohooooo!!!

 

 


Angelina N.

4star

He was extremely knowledgeable, upfront, and did not tell us just what we wanted to hear
(like most attorneys). He was very honest and told us it was not going to be easy, but that it could be done.


I cannot thank Stephen Eckdish enough for all he did for myself and our family. My boyfriend who I have been with since I was 16 years old (now together over 16 years) and have two children with, was facing deportation. This situation came about due to some big mistakes he made in 2008 while we were separated. Ironically, this came to surface coming back from a family vacation from the Bahamas. We were detained with homeland security for over six hours (apparently this is how they keep track of immigration/criminal matters). needless to say, his green card (which took him 10 years to obtain) was taken. It should be noted that my boyfriend has been in this country since he was 10 years old. Born in Mexico. Facing deportation was the scariest time in our lives, for myself, our children and him. I could not bear the thought of possibly being forced to be a single mother physically and financially. Nor the thought of my children's father being ripped from them. I did a lot of research on the laws and facts and what I found just scared me even more. I read a lot of reviews of attorney's (which I know how attorneys work because I personally work for one), and such has been my profession for over 8 years. Therefore, I know firsthand that 9 out of 10 are no good.I came across Stephen Eckdish and made the appointment. He was extremely knowledgeable, upfront, and did not tell us just what we wanted to hear (like most attorneys). He was very honest and told us it was not going to be easy, but that it could be done. Mr. Eckdish told us exactly what we needed to do to accomplish our goal. In short, Mr. Eckdish made our proceedings and process the most time and cost efficient as possible. In fact, we ended up getting our ruling (for a dismissal of all charges) short of a hearing in immigration court!! That was the best day for us. I truly feel had it not been for Mr. Eckdish's knowledge and expertise, we would not have had the same result. I would highly recommend him for anyone who's facing these terrible times. 1/22/2014

 

 


4star
"The best endorsement I can and do give Steve Eckdish is to refer
my own clients to him on their immigration issues."
Hugh Levine, Esq. Criminal Defense Attorney in San Francisco, CA 

I make such referrals and will continue to do so because Steve Eckdish is a lawyer's lawyer. By that I mean that lawyers such as myself consult him or associate him in our cases when immigration issues are involved. We recognize that he knows immigration law inside-out and is an imaginative, aggressive, and tireless advocate for his clients. His outstanding record of success in this extremely complex, difficult, and anxiety-ridden field of law speaks for itself. All of Steve's vast experience and expertise is packaged in a lawyer who cares deeply about the people who consult him and who conveys that emotional connection through the intensity of his advocacy. If you seek an immigration lawyer who will stand and fight for you, or for your client, Stephen Eckdish is that lawyer.

 

 


4star
"Effective Attorney
"

I recommend Stephen Eckdish. I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago. Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter. I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers. Stephen Eckdish, Immigration & Criminal Defense Attorney, helped me to reduce a felony charge to a misdemeanor and through out the whole process he showed a lot of experience, knowledge and he was very professional. He talked to me with the truth since our first meeting, everything he told me he was going to do he did it. Even though, I had a violation of probation he found the way to prove that I had more positive attributes and by this manner he won my case.

He also helped me to terminate a prior restraining order, even though there was very few probabilities to win the case, and the judge criteria was to deny it, Attorney Eckdish was able to pull out the motion from a denial and won the case. It was very amazing, a great effective attorney, I’m so thankful. Mr. Stephen Eckdish is honest and kind person, he is very humane, and it shows with a high degree of care for the outcome of my problem. He also is very reasonable in price, He will fight for you like he did for me. Now I have an immigration problem which I will let Mr. Eckdish solve for me since I have full trust in his work. I highly recommend him.


4star
"Excellent lawyer!" Rodriguez Family

I recommend Stephen Eckdish. I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago. Stephen handled my Immigration matter. I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers. January of 2012, my husband was detained by ICE for a criminal conviction from fifteen years ago. After consulting with numerous immigration attorneys, my husband’s future was to accept that he had no choice but to be deported to a country he does not know. After almost giving up, we decided to give it another shot and consulted with Stephen Eckdish, Attorney at Law.  Mr. Eckdish reviewed all the possibilities and came to the conclusion we had one shot at beating this. Even though this case was difficult, Mr. Eckdish was the only lawyer to give us the fighting chance we needed. 

After 3 months of detainment, my husband was reunited with his family. And now, 15 months later, my husband is no longer in deportation proceedings. All this is a HUGE thanks to Mr. Eckdish and his legal experience. I would highly recommend him to anyone with immigration legal issues. He was the only person that made the impossible, possible.  We are forever grateful.


 

4star
"
Excellent, trustworthy and fair."

I recommend Stephen Eckdish. I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago. Stephen handled my Criminal Defense matter. I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers. Mr. Eckdish handled a complex criminal matter which would have had adverse effect on my immigration status. He pulled a legal move in court that really stretches the imagination. In order for my immigration status to be defensible, a certain type of crime had to be erased from a decade ago, and changed into something that has a fighting chance in immigration court. That sounds simple in itself, but the process of getting a court to turn back time, change the charge and the ruling as if it never even happened is pretty tricky. Eckdish provided irrefutable logic as to why the court should rule in my favor, which they did. Even in court the judge complemented Eckdish as well as the DA on their legal cooperation. 

Eckdish's prices are also fair, for the amount of time he dedicated to my case, and considering what service I received, I consider his rates to be very reasonable. During the time we worked together, he felt like family to me. He completely immersed himself into my case, and made me feel like I was his only client. He was always available to me. Regardless of outcome, Eckdish's knowledge, performance and professionalism is top notch. In this case, I was fortunate enough to win. Though, I had no doubt I would with Eckdish as my attorney. Sincerely,  Grateful Client


"Mr. Eckdish’s knowledge, years of experience, and tenacious nature won my husband’s case..."
Sarah N. - April, 2012

4star

The short of it is that Mr. Eckdish’s knowledge, years of experience, and tenacious nature won my husband’s case when he was facing deportation at a Removal Hearing, due to several criminal convictions. Ours was not an easy case, nor short, as changes in the law and unexpected judicial decisions ended up dragging it out for four years, through an appeal, status conferences, several briefs, and two hearings. However, through the sound guidance of Mr. Eckdish, we won the case and our family remains together in the United States. Mr. Eckdish guided us through each juncture that we faced in Immigration Court, and prepared a case that the judge even remarked was “well put together”. In addition to being an outstanding attorney, we found Mr. Eckdish to be a person of integrity, as he remained dedicated to our case as it became extremely prolonged, without changing the terms of our initial agreement. Other attorneys likely would not have proceeded with such absolute dedication without additional supplementation. For these reasons, we recommend Mr. Eckdish as an invaluably experienced criminal and immigration attorney, and a man with true character. We believe that without his dedication and expertise, we would not have won my husband’s case. For anyone finding themselves in need of representation in Immigration or Criminal Court, we strongly recommend Mr. Eckdish, as his many years of experience and personal handling of our case made all the difference in what could have been a devastating outcome for our family.


"He was responsive, generous with his time, and always always answered my calls..."
By: Chris T. August, 2011
4star

Mr. Eckdish is truly a kind and very generous person, who is extremely knowledgeable in both Criminal and Immigration Law, he looks at all angles and explains everything. He is very passionate about protecting his clients. This type of experience is extremely rare, but very important when you have a loved one facing both criminal charges, which could ultimately result in removal. Just recently my family was facing a very difficult situation when we found out that my husband plead to an aggravated felony unknowingly, which basically means deportation from the US forever. He has lived in the US for almost 30 years, so you can imagine our panic. I hired Mr. Eckdish to assist the local criminal attorney in getting this conviction modified in Criminal Court. His expertise was extremely valuable, he was responsive, generous with his time, and always always answered my calls and helped me feel at ease. The argument that was presented to the court was extremely direct, persuasive and very strong. We succeeded in getting my husband’s sentence modified, when my husband was taken in by ICE, Mr. Eckdish spoke to the ICE agent directly and spoke of all the positive things about our family. Ultimately my husband was released from ICE custody, and I cannot express how thankful I am to Mr. Eckdish. His is a compassionate person and a fabulous attorney.


"Everything went smooth and super-fast, so I got my citizenship in less than 4 months"
By Vlad- May 26, 2011

4star

I am writing this to highly recommend Mr. Stephen Eckdish. He's a great immigration attorney and he helped me out twice. The first time, he prepared my naturalization papers. Everything went smooth and super-fast, so I got my citizenship in less than 4 months (San Francisco service center). He came with me to the interview as well, making sure that everything is going well. The second time, I used Mr. Eckdish's services in a matter related to an AOS procedure for my immediate relatives. Again, everything was smooth and without any problems. He attended the AOS interview and his presence there was reassuring and invaluable in securing instant approval. Bottomline, my relatives got the green card approved in less than three months (again, processing took place at the San Francisco office). I am very grateful for his continued support and for the professional way he handled both my cases.


"With all the great work done by Mr. Eckdish, my father is now able to stay in this country with his family."
By YaDi - 02/08/2011

I highly recommend Mr. Eckdish for all Immigration issues. My father was in the process of being deported for a criminal issue he had back in 1993. This was all very difficult for our family. Thanks to the help and dedication put by Mr. Eckdish my father won his case. Mr. Eckdish knows how to defend his clients with great satisfaction. My father’s case was a very difficult one. It took many years to get resolved, but with all the great work done by Mr. Eckdish my father is now able to stay in this country with his family. We thought would not be possible. I appreciate all of the hard work and dedication put by Mr. Eckdish.


"It’s like hiring two attorneys in one!"
By RubyH - 01/18/2011

I highly recommend Mr. Eckdish if you have an immigration issue/deportation issue. Mr. Eckdish won two of my relatives’ cases. They were serious cases. One was for voluntary manslaughter and one was for sale of drugs. Both had past felony and misdemeanor histories. After Mr. Eckdish's efforts, time and dedication, he won both cases. His dedication showed right at the beginning when he even met with us during the holiday weekend, because sometimes with immigration cases, time is of the essence. Mr. Eckdish is very knowledgeable in both Immigration/Criminal which makes the process a lot easier. It’s like hiring two attorneys in one! Mr. Eckdish is tough, straightforward and pushy for a reason. He makes sure things get done and every avenue is sought - no room for errors. Think twice about who you hire, because it is your life you are dealing with. Mr. Eckdish is very generous and friendly. He will make you feel comfortable and is if you were family to him.


"Mr. Eckdish is the first lawyer to go the extra mile"
By Linh - 01/09/2011

I considered myself lucky to have found Mr. Stephen Eckdish to represent me in immigration court. Mr. Eckdish is the first lawyer to go the extra mile to help me analyze my case and laid out all the possible consequences for each scenario during my consultation meeting. He is very knowledgeable and has extensive experience in regards to immigration matters. He successfully helped me reduced my former convictions sentencing so that I can have a chance to fight my deportation case. With Mr. Eckdish’s knowledge and help, I was able to win the case that no other lawyers had confidence in fighting against.

I highly recommend Mr. Eckdish to anyone with immigration matters. He was very helpful and patient throughout the process. He answered all of my questions and ensured that I fully understand what’s going on before moving on to the next stage with the case. He even took the time out on the weekends to meet with me when necessary. Mr. Eckdish is a great lawyer and a wonderful person. I enjoyed working with him and feel blessed to have him as our lawyer.

Thank you again for all of your hard work! You’ve given me a chance to remain in the United States with my family.


"He didn't just do the work for me, he helped me understand what I was filing
and explained the importance of each document.
" By Ian - 10/29/2010

I am writing this review to give my full vote of confidence to Stephen Eckdish for any immigration matter that you might have. I first met Stephen in July of 2009. I had met a woman from Colombia whom I wanted to marry. I was very new to the complicated immigration process and very overwhelmed. He reassured me that he would help me and if I was patient and willing to put in the work that I would be able to bring my fiancée to the States. He was very open to any questions I had. He was very prompt in returning calls and completing all things on time. He didn't just do the work for me, he helped me understand what I was filing and explained the importance of each document. It really helps as the petitioner to be fully aware of all immigration documents, so that when you have your interview you know the paperwork like the back of your hand. You know the questions they will ask and you are fully confident in the information you are providing since you understand it so well. He was very thorough and made sure every I was dotted and every T was crossed. Any mistake in the process can cost you weeks and months and Stephen makes sure that those mistakes don't happen. All in all Stephen is a wonderful lawyer and even a better person. I would recommend him to anyone who needs help with any part of the immigration process.


"As the hand of the law was pointing against us and all seemed lost, Mr. Eckdish went the extra mile to help."
By SS - 07/23/2010

Attorney Stephen Eckdish did what seemed to be impossible. We highly recommend Mr. Eckdish if you have immigration or criminal problems.

Mr. Eckdish made it possible for me to remain in the U.S. as a lawful permanent resident. Without him, all would have been lost and I would be in removal proceedings now. Mr. Eckdish persuaded USCIS that I was not made inadmissible despite my arrests and convictions because he argued that only one of my convictions was for a crime of moral turpitude. Therefore, he proved to USCIS that I was eligible for petty offense exception and not deportable. Because of his expertise in both criminal and immigration law, my green card application was approved. I am now a lawful permanent resident.

We felt helpless and desperate. Mr. Eckdish acts not just as a lawyer, but also as a friend. As the hand of the law was pointing against us and all seemed lost, Mr. Eckdish went the extra mile to help us. He utilized his professional knowledge and experience in both immigration and criminal law to win our case. He was able to take a very difficult case and present it simply and forcefully to CIS. Helping us overcome the challenges we faced, he swiftly turned the case around in our favor by personally presenting legal authority to the supervisor in charge of the adjustment unit to show that I was eligible for green card. It was like a miracle. He supported us on personal level. He helped us emotionally through this difficult period of frustration and uncertainty. We think of him now not just as a lawman but as a friend of the family.

Mr. Eckdish explained things clearly, and answered our questions so that we could actually understand (all that legal words and more words!) He is a very "real" person--he is moving when he needs to be, and is calm and cool when it's needed. He is busy, he is connected, and he is very professional--look at the result that he got for us in our case and you can see he knows what he is doing and gets the job done right. Mr. Eckdish, my family and I cannot thank you and your assistants enough. We can finally get on with our lives now and we remember you always and thank you again!


"Attorney Stephen Eckdish did what seemed to be impossible."
Posted by: KS 2010


Attorney Stephen Eckdish did what seemed to be impossible. We highly recommend Mr. Eckdish if you have immigration or criminal problems. Mr. Eckdish made it possible for me to remain in the U.S. as a lawful permanent resident. Without him, all would have been lost and I would be in removal proceedings now. Mr. Eckdish persuaded USCIS that I was not made inadmissible despite my arrests and convictions because he argued that only one of my convictions was for a crime of moral turpitude. Therefore, he proved to USCIS that I was eligible for petty offense exception and not deportable. Because of his expertise in both criminal and immigration law, my green card application was approved. I am now a lawful permanent resident.

We felt helpless and desperate. Mr. Eckdish acts not just as a lawyer, but as a friend. As the hand of the law was pointing against us and all seemed lost, Mr. Eckdish went the extra mile to help us. He utilized his professional knowledge and experience in both immigration and criminal law to win our case. He was able to take a very difficult case and present it simply and forcefully to CIS. Helping us overcome the challenges we faced, he swiftly turned the case around in our favor by personally presenting legal authority to the supervisor in charge of the adjustment unit to show that I was eligible for green card. It was like a miracle. He supported us on personal level. He helped us emotionally through this difficult period of frustration and uncertainty. We think of him now not just as a law man; but, as a friend of the family.

Mr. Eckdish explained things clearly, and answered our questions so that we could actually understand (all that legal words and more words!) He is a very "real" person--he is moving when he needs to be, and is calm and cool when it's needed. He is busy, he is connected, and he is very professional--look at the result that he got for us in our case and you can see he knows what he is doing and gets the job done right. Mr. Eckdish, my family and I cannot thank you and your assistants enough. We can finally get on with our lives now and we remember you always and thank you again!


"His knowledge and experience is very impressive, but his ability to take action was outstanding."
SN
2010

Overall rating:


Trustworthy, Responsive, Knowledgeable, Kept me informed. I recommend Stephen Eckdish. I used Stephen 1-6 months ago. Stephen handled my Immigration matter. I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

I had a very complicated immigration/criminal issue in relation to which Stephen provided timely and excellent advice. His knowledge of the system and result oriented approach achieve a remarkable result for me (which I could have only dreamed for). His knowledge and experience is very impressive, but his ability to take action was outstanding. Thanks for everything.


"Outstanding Immigration Lawyer"
By Harmony - Jan 17, 2010

Overall rating:

My family was very fortunate to find Mr. Eckdish as our lawyer to handle my brother's criminal conviction and immigration removal court case. He helped us in a professional manner from beginning to end; yet, he is one aggressive lawyer (in a positive way). He used the simplest language to help us understand the case. He was up-front about the whole case and answered our questions in calmly and assuring manners. Mr. Eckdish was aware of the legal complications and found an immediate solution to win my brother’s case in immigration court. He knew he was taking on a challenge and executed his job very well. He was in contact with us until my brother safely came home and he still maintains his relationship with us to ensure everything is fine. Mr. Eckdish, really we appreciated all your hard work and patience. We were very pleased with your service and would recommend you to all my family and friends without any hesitation.


"I needed a good, tough, and aggressive lawyer with years of experience to represent me."
By StephenFan - 10/26/2009

text

Stephen Eckdish is an immigration lawyer and criminal defense attorney and has decades of experience and taken on hundreds of cases. I randomly found him online after doing a search and retained him 2 years ago. Because immigration law is extremely complicated, I needed a good, tough, and aggressive lawyer with years of experience to represent me. And I'm glad I found Steve! Everyone's case is different and I'm not gonna go into details of what mine entailed (there are literally millions of ways that people can get screwed over or screw themselves over), but all I can say is it was the best decision I've ever made.


"He immediately lets you know that he is very experienced in immigration and criminal law."
Stephen O. - September 2009

Overall rating:

Anyone here on a visa knows how serious it could be getting into any kind of trouble with the law due to the fact that even the simplest offenses could have pretty serious immigration consequences. I got into some potentially serious problems out of state. I was arrested and charged with battery of a police officer and trespassing. Words cannot truly convey how panicked I was. I pretty much thought that I had no chance of staying in the US after this. After I contacted my out of state criminal attorney, I immediately contacted Stephen Eckdish, who in spite of his extremely packed schedule (a testament to how good he is) agreed to see me on the same day. The first thing that strikes you is his refreshing cool and collected approach to the situation. This is how lawyers should be!!! He takes a personal interest in every case. In my case, he immediately contacted my out of state criminal attorney and worked with him before any plea was entered, and informed him of our only options as far as a plea goes. Stephen tries to minimize or completely eliminate any negative immigration consequences if possible. Mr. Eckdish's approach immediately lets you know that he is very experienced in immigration and criminal law. His fatherly way of dealing with things is really reassuring. Needless to say, I went in to his office as a total wreck, and left there feeling much better. To make a long story short, Stephen was able to work with my criminal defense lawyer to have both charges dropped and the entire case dismissed. He also made sure I got a letter explaining the details of the arrest and the outcome. I have since been able to travel abroad and return to the US and I am also in the process of adjusting my status. Mr. Eckdish gives first class service, is very reassuring, and is very clear on if he can help your situation or not. In my case he even offered to travel out of state if required for a very reasonable fee. All in all, he had my case resolved with the best possible outcome given the circumstances for a very small fee (considering the charges I faced) and also gave me several follow up appointments for free. I am very satisfied with his service.


"Mr. Eckdish rebuilt my confidence and represented me in the criminal court." S.C. – August 2009

Overall rating:

I made the mistake of not obtaining an opinion from an immigration and criminal defense attorney when I pled no contest in 1998 to two (2) deportable domestic violence offenses that resulted in misdemeanor convictions. Recently, I was shocked and horrified when I consulted with Immigration and Criminal Defense Attorney Stephen Eckdish for naturalization when he informed me that I was deportable and that those convictions would prevent me from becoming a U.S. citizen. In his very warm, calm and confident manner, Mr. Eckdish rebuilt my confidence and represented me in the criminal court in Santa Clara County Superior Court where he successfully had the convictions vacated and dismissed (i.e. "they never happened"). I no longer have any convictions. The Judge and DA were very impressed with Mr. Eckdish and praised him for his knowledge and legal prowess.

Thereafter, Mr. Eckdish represented me through my naturalization process with CIS. He prepared and filed my N-400 application for citizenship which was approved. I am due to appear for my Oath taking ceremony very shortly. Needless to say, I am extremely pleased with Mr. Eckdish's legal services as both an immigration and criminal defense attorney and would highly recommend him to anyone - especially immigrants in a similar situation as my past.

My family and I are soooo happy, and we owe it all to Mr. Eckdish for giving us a 2nd chance in life. God Bless Mr. Eckdish and God Bless America!


"He was able to vacate the conviction and then he worked with the judge to have the
court order all records of my case be physically destroyed
." IK – June 2009

Overall rating:

I am a green card holder with a conviction which prevented me from traveling outside of US and applying for citizenship due to possible deportation. Stephen Eckdish represented me in court and was more than successful. He was able to vacate the conviction and then he worked with the judge to have the court order all records of my case be physically destroyed. So right now I have no record at all anywhere and am able to apply for citizenship and travel outside of US. I am extremely pleased with Mr. Eckdish’s services and would highly recommend him for anyone who has a case that involves both immigration and criminal matters.


"Mr. Eckdish's experience and knowledge in both criminal
and immigration law were very useful". AC – May 2009

Overall rating:

I was facing deportation due to my history of deportable criminal convictions. Mr. Eckdish assisted my public criminal defense lawyer in negotiating for a conviction that would not affect my immigration pending case. I appreciated the patience Mr. Eckdish had with my ignorant and non compliant lawyer. Mr. Eckdish's experience and knowledge in both criminal and immigration law were very useful. He took my case without being completely informed of my whole history of criminal convictions which put my case in a difficult situation. Mr. Eckdish still continued on with representing me, knowing that it was going to take more work then expected. Mr. Eckdish kept me informed every step he was taking in preparing for my case. I felt like he was taking my case with personal interest, and believe me...that's hard to come around. On the day of my Cancellation of Removal hearing he asked and directed each question during my testimony in winning the Judge’s decision on my behalf. Something that seemed impossible but yet with his dedication and by the grace of God my relief was approved. Today I am at home with my wife and son in the US. Thanks to Mr. Eckdish! I may have said a lot but believe me if you knew exactly what I've been through there is definitely a lot more to say. Thank you Stephen and your assistants for all the great work!


"Mr. Eckdish's Immigration and Criminal defense is unparalleled." - Jose D. - May 2008

Overall rating:

My father, age 75 who lives in Los Angeles was implicated in a serious federal offense. After a hung jury we reluctantly agreed he enter a guilty plea and serve 1 year in federal prison. Shortly after his release he received a Notice to Appear for a Deportation Hearing. I interviewed over a 1/2 dozen attorneys in L.A. Most if not all were willing to take on the case for this much $$$ but their cookie cutter responses and detached attitude troubled me especially their lack of experience in handling federal criminal cases.

When I contacted Mr. Eckdish by telephone he was extremely professional, respectful, patient, polite, very inquisitive and came across as a very intelligent, caring and down to earth individual. He heard the stress in my voice. He wanted to help. He posed questions no other attorney asked. I knew then and there this was the attorney I wanted representing my Father...no one else. We never spoke of money. He struggled with the case being in L.A. It was not easy to convince him to take the case but days later he did. It was not an easy case.

Mr. Eckdish was passionate about his work from the beginning. He is aggressive (he immediately filed a Motion to Dismiss and Terminate the case). He is assertive, an excellent researcher, communicator and writer, fast on his feet, thorough, clever ...brilliant. Despite many disappointments over a 2 year period, many frustrations, loss of hope, uneventful trips during removal proceeding hearings, Mr. Eckdish won the case and got a few charges included in the order.

Mr. Eckdish's Immigration and Criminal defense is unparalleled. I will always feel blessed to have found him. I will always refer my family, friends and strangers to him. I sincerely hope that if you or someone you love needs legal representation, you contact and retain Mr. Eckdish. You will be in excellent hands.


"Because of his quality of work and reputation I am here to stay" Tom C. - April 2008

Overall rating:

There is no doubt that Stephen Eckdish is the very best defense attorney. I had a very difficult case and was destined to be deported. He said it was winnable and because of his quality of work and reputation with the courts, I am here to stay.


"I would definitely recommend Stephen Eckdish to anyone looking for a good lawyer.
He represented me and I was very happy with the results."
G. Roomer - January 2008

Overall rating:


"He gave us confidence..." Abigal - January 2008

Overall rating:

My husband and family much appreciate Stephen Eckdish's performance as our attorney with my husbands case. We had a lot of pressure with my husband's case. It was a lot of worrying throughout the year and when we met Stephen Eckdish he calmed us down and told us everything will be ok. He gave us confidence that my husband would be able to stay in the United States. Sure enough it happened when we went to the immigration court my husband was granted to stay in United States. We were happy with Stephen Eckdish!


I will highly recommend Mr. Eckdish. He came across as a very compassionate, dedicated and truthful to me. His boutique office proved just right for attention that he delivered towards my case. Whenever I had any question he was always there to answer them without delay. Defending clients in Removal Proceedings: I was advised by other attorneys that there's no available relief for me but through Mr. Eckdish' hard work, He made it possible to terminate my Deportation Proceeding.


"He is undoubtedly the best." Angelica N. - January 2008

Overall rating:

When I was charged with four (4) moral turpitude cases and removable pursuant to INA section 212(a)(2)(D)(i), my life turned upside down. I met with lots of lawyers but they failed to win my confidence to be my rep. Cancellation of Removal or Family hardship were the only arguments they recommended but I need someone who could think “outside-the-box”. Luck and good fortune drew me to Mr. Stephen Eckdish’s website: www.sfatty.com. His extensive experience in criminal and immigration background was a good fit to handle my case. I was very impressed not only from his education, past cases he represented and knowledge on how SF immigration court handles this kind of case, but also from his down-to-earth attitude, kind heart, simplicity without arrogance, and sensitivity. I felt comfortable to give him my life, future, and trust that he would win my case. In January 2008, the immigration judge granted our motion to terminate my case and my U.S. Green Card was returned to me. I thank you Mr. Eckdish from the bottom of my heart. He is undoubtedly the best. My case was very difficult and I new we had won the minute the hearing started


"He's knowledgeable and definitely someone you can count on!" Christine M.

Overall rating:


When my husband was placed in deportation proceeding for simple possession of illegal drugs, our life was turned upside down. We spoke to many different lawyers, all of which were popular and had reputable names. We paid the high consultation fees in hopes of getting any solid advice on how to approach the case. I thought the case was simple enough since its a mere simple possession of illegal drugs. But all the other lawyers said it was difficult case because the crime was committed within 1 year upon his arrival as an immigrant. That means they said he didn't qualify for a cancellation of removal. All of the reputable lawyers we spoke with had no idea what relief or motions to file for him. Then, we came across Attorney Eckdish. He gave us hope that no others were able to provide. Most importantly, he won the case. He's knowledgeable and definitely someone you can count on!

"Thank you so much for your kindness and professionalism..." Van and Kim - October 2007

Overall rating:

We would like to express our appreciation and gratitude for the excellent outcome of this case. A year and 6 months ago my wife was not LPR in the state. We met Mr. Eckdish at his office. You explained how everything would work and gave us assistance in preparing all the proper documents to Immigration Department, setting up the necessary appointments and appearing with us at each interview made it possible for my wife to become a Legal Permanent Resident here in the United States. It was a lot of work on your part, but it has become a dream come true for us as a couple. Now my wife is a Legal Permanent Resident in the United States.

Thank you so much for your kindness and professionalism in the way you presented our case. We were very pleased with the service we received and will definitely recommend your legal services to all our family and friends. Again thank you so much Mr. Eckdish.


"We will forever be grateful to Mr. Eckdish. My husband is now a permanent U.S. resident!!!!"
The Castillo Family - June 2007

Overall rating:

My husband has been in the U.S. illegally since 1989 from Mexico. Approx 2 years ago my husband was arrested & as a result the immigration deptartment was deporting him. I immediately posted bond for him and we quickly looked for an attorney, the first attorney we hired went to court with us & as soon as she saw the charges he was facing, she told us there was nothing she could do and that he should leave the country on his own forever. By a stroke of luck I found Mr. Stephen Eckdish's website on the internet. We met with him, Mr. Eckdish first reviewed our case and he called me with great news that he would help us! Since the beginning Mr. Eckdish has been very professional and honest. Mr. Eckdish had to fight and prove to the judge that my husband was not a drug trafficker and he did successfully! Mr. Eckdish also had to prove that if my husband was deported that our daughter and I would suffer extreme and unusual hardship which is VERY difficult to do (almost impossible). and again he did successfully..as of our trial, my husband is now a permanent U.S. resident!!!! After fighting for two years throughout the case, Mr. Eckdish fought very hard and never gave up. He believed in our case and I know there could not have been any other attorney who could of done what he has did for our family. We are so happy this ordeal is finally over and that everything worked out the way it did. We knew from the beginning this case was extremely difficult and that our chances of winning were very slim to none. Mr. Eckdish is the real definition of a defense attorney and he is truly the best.... Thanks again Mr. Eckdish.

"Steve Eckdish helped me with a tricky immigration problem." Arjan B. June 2006

Overall rating:

I have been in the USA for 25 years and received my green card in 1991. Since then I traveled extensively out of the country and had never had any problems until I returned from England late December 2005. Steve Eckdish helped me with a tricky immigration problem. I was stopped at the border and I was not allowed entry because of a change in the immigration law. ( I had a arrest and conviction in 1983). I was let in the country but I was to report to a immigration judge immediately. I retained Steve Eckdish and he expertly worked with the District Attorney and the Immigration Court in a professional manner and the result was that the Immigration Judge stopped the removal proceedings and I was allowed to stay in the USA. To make sure that this was not going to happen again, especially with the heightened terrorism fears, I asked Steve Eckdish to help me with my naturalization and once again Steve came through and I am to be sworn in as a U.S. citizen in a month from now.


Stephen Eckdish is an active member in the following organizations:
American Immigration Lawyers Association (A.I.L.A.)
Association of Trial Lawyers of America (A.T.L.A.)
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice (C.A.C.J.)

Nationaly Ranked for Excellence
Avvo Lawyer Rating
(Avvo)

end of page

end of page

E-mail:Stephen Eckdish
649 Mission Street
5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 776-1633
Fax: (415) 974-6745


The responses and information are intended to be general and should not be relied upon for any specific situation. For legal advice, consult an experienced attorney. Nothing on this or associated pages, documents, comments, answers, e-mail, articles or other communications should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. All contents copyright © © Stephen Eckdish, Attorney at Law 2001. All rights reserved.